Oy OiOi Cover Small

JSL005 – Released July 2014
First released by Minimal Klezmer in April 2014

1 – Oy oioi
2 – Aidiniko
3 – Rumenishe Fantaziye
4 – Fun Der Khupe
5 – Fun Tashlakh + Hora Batrineasca
6 – Doina
7 – Ukrainian Kolomeika
8 – Stratford Hora
9 – A Laibediga Honga
10 – Grichisher Tanz
11 – Nifty’s Freylakh
12 – Haneros Haiallu
13 – Bei Mir
14 – Epitaph
15 – A Rumenishe Nigri

Based in Venice and London, Minimal Klezmer Trio was founded in 2011 by three musicians united by a background in classical music, an inclination towards improvisation, and a fatal passion for klezmer.
Their repertoire consists strictly of pieces of Eastern European origin, with original arrangements that, in contrast with to the more sacred and meditative aspect, bring out an ironic, improvisational, cabaretistic and danceable side.

The minimal line-up of the trio, consisting of tools for more “portable” and acoustic instruments, is directly inspired by small klezmer formations, thanks to the old recordings of Jacob Gegna, Josef Solinski, Mihal Viteazul we have evidence of, dating from as far back as the early twentieth century.

Despite their recent formation, Minimal Klezmer have held numerous concerts, reviews and Radio appearances in Italy, the UK, Germany and Hungary.
They have collaborated and collaborate frequently with violinist Pietro Pontini, bassist Alessandro Turchet, drummers Jimmy Weinstein, Zsolt Kovács Sárvári, Lorenzo De Vettor and accordionist Luca Piovesan with whom they recorded their first album.

Reviews of previous album

“ Carefully-crafted, classically-inclined compositions sit side-by-side with off-kilter jigs and unfettered oom-pah. It might be folk, it could be jazz. It doesn’t matter. Humanity is at its core.” – London Jazz News


Francesco Socal: Clarinets, Voice
Roberto Durante: Piano, melodica and objects
Martin Teshome: Cello
Pietro Pontini: Violin and objects
Alex Turchet: Double Bass (5, 10, 14)
Jimmy Weinstein: Drums (1, 10)